YOUR LEGAL CALL: +1.7033489808
We represent clients in full legal capacities in all of Northern Virginia and the District of Columbia.
We focus on Criminal Defense, Traffic Defense, Family Law, Wills, Trusts, and Estate Law.
Reckless Driving: Under Virginia law, when a driver is convicted of reckless driving or speeding in excess of 80 miles per hour or 20+ mph the posted limit, that person faces a criminal charge. Although it may just seem like a simple driving ticket it is actually a class 1 misdemeanor. Reckless driving can lead up to twelve (12) months in jail, up to a $2,500 fine and up to six (6) months suspension of your driver’s license. Call the Gilson Law Firm today 703-348-9808.
Driving with suspended or revoked: License Driving while a license is suspended or revoked is a charge that can result in a serious crime. The outcome of your charge is determined by the history of your driving record and the reason why the police officer stopped you. Driving with a suspended or revoked license results in another suspension served after your current suspension is completed. Call us today so that we may defend you 703-348-9808.
Driving without a license: The Virginia Code Section 46.2-300 states that no person is allowed to drive any motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. A first offense is a class 2 misdemeanor and a second offense moves up to a class 1 misdemeanor. The first offense is punishable by possible jail time up to six (6) months and up to a $1,250 fine. The second offense leads to a possible punishment of up to twelve (12) months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine. Traffic Laws: you may accumulate DMV’s demerit points and your car insurance rates may go up. Call us today to schedule a confidential consultation with a qualified attorney.
CRIMINAL DEFENSE: DUI/DWI:
DUI and DWI are both defined as operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or intoxicant. A DUI arrest is reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange. Even a first offense may include twelve (12) months suspension of your driver’s license, jail time up to a one (1) year, up to a $2,500 fine, and installation of an interlock device. The punishments for a DUI/DWI are based on the result of the BAC, also known as the blood alcohol content and/or breath test. You will be arrested for a DUI if you are 21 years or older with a BAC of 0.08% and if you are younger than 21 with a BAC of 0.02%. Also if you are a commercial driver and your BAC is 0.04% you will be arrested. A DUI/DWI charge requires an experience and knowledgeable counsel. We take aggressive, proactive approach to our cases. Call The Gilson Law Firm P.L.L.C today 703-348-9808.
Drug Crimes: Possession of drugs is a serious crime in Virginia. Drug possession carries punishments from probation to prison sentences and fines; all depending on the amount of the drug. The most common drug crime committed is possession of marijuana. Even a first offense, possession of marijuana faces thirty (30) days in jail and court fines. A second offense for possession of marijuana moves up to a Class 1 misdemeanor. A Class 1 misdemeanor faces up to twelve (12) months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine. Distribution of drugs is a more severe offense. Marijuana is a common distributed drug. The Virginia Code Section 18.2-248.1 states that if the distribution of marijuana is not more than 1/2oz it is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the amount of marijuana is more than 1/2oz, but not more than five pounds it is a Class 5 felony. A Class 5 felony faces a maximum of ten (10) years in prison. Distribution of an illegal substance, such as cocaine and heroin, can result in prison even if it is a first offense. Call us today (703)348-9808.
Harassment: Harassment is defined as someone being accused of purposely annoying another person. It is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable with up to twelve (12) months in jail and a $2,500 fine. Harassment is usually done through emails or telephone. If there are threats of violence it can be considered stalking.
Theft Crimes: Theft is defined as taking someone else’s property without their consent either physically or deceivingly. Theft is a criminal charge which includes shoplifting, larceny, altering store tags, purchasing stolen property and bouncing checks. The value of the stolen item determines the punishment. If the stolen item is valued less than $200 it is considered petit larceny. The Virginia Code Section 18.2-96 states that petit larceny is punished as a class 1 misdemeanor. If the item is valued more than $200 it is considered a felony.
Sex Crimes: Sex crimes are relations forced either sexual or behavior that society considers to be inappropriate and against the social norms. Some sex crimes are rape, aggravated sexual battery, child pornography, and carnal knowledge of a minor. The punishments for sex crimes are serious with jail time, fines and result in having to register as a sex offender. These are very serious crimes and should be discussed with an attorney as soon as possible. Call the Gilson Law Firm now 703-248-9808.
White Collar Crimes: White collar crimes are known as nonviolent crimes for illegal financial gain. Some common white collar crimes involve fraud, embezzlement, counterfeiting, bribery, blackmail, extortion, etc. Crimes such as these require an experienced qualified criminal defense attorney. Call the Gilson Law Firm today 703-348-9808.
Violent Crimes: Violent crimes are crimes committed when an offender uses or threatens to use violent force upon a victim. These crimes are usually committed with a weapon. Violent crimes include assault and battery, malicious wounding, unlawful wounding, and acts of violence by mob, etc. A simple assault or assault and battery, as stated in the Virginia Code Section 18.2-57, is a class 1 misdemeanor. If an offender intentionally selects an individual by race, religious conviction, or national origin will be guilty of a class 6 felony. A class 6 felony faces a maximum of five (5) years in prison. Virginia Code Section 18.2-51 states if any person maliciously shoots, stab, cut, or wounds any person or by any means cause him bodily injury, with the intent to maim, disfigure, disable, or kill can be found guilty of a Class 3 felony. A Class 3 felony is very serious and faces a maximum of twenty (20) years in prison. Crimes such as these must be discussed with an experienced attorney. Call the Gilson Law Firm today 703-348-9808.
Juvenile Crimes: A juvenile delinquent is a person under the age of 18 that commits a crime. However, depending on the type and severity of the offense committed, it is possible for persons under 18 to be charged and tried as an adult. We can advise you on criminal cases from misdemeanors to felonies.
Expungement: An Expungement is the process of removing any police and court records involving a criminal case. When your record is expunged it does not mean it is destroyed. The record is sealed from public access but it can still be accessed by court order. The only cases that are entitled to obtain an expungement are the ones that result in acquittal, absolute pardon, nolle prosequi, dismissal, or if your name/identification was used without consent.
Estate Planning Wills and Trusts:
Do you need a will? Do you need a trust? What is a medical directive? How does a Power of Attorney work? If you've been asking yourself these questions, we can help. Our rates are low, and our packages are very reasonable. We can help you plan for the future. Contact us at 703-348-9808.